facebook pixel

2015 TIR Trade Expo and IGA Conference

The approaching end of another financial year signals another TIR Expo and IGA Conference with a message this year to carry throughout every year, "Believe It/Achieve It".

Beginning on Thursday 18th June with a 10am start, the Expo included new and returning exhibitors as well as many regulars across 4 rooms of Hobart's Wrest Point. A fresh display featured in the Board Walk Gallery which also provided a seated dining space for delegates to enjoy lunch and take in the breathtaking view of the River Derwent.

2015 was a year of firsts with the Retailer Awards Dinner moving to Thursday night and to the Hotel Grand Chancellor and a national tie in of Retailer Awards. Despite heavy traffic of Dark Mofo, bus transport ran smoothly where a record attendance of almost 400 enjoyed great food, great music from Sugartrain and great entertainment from comic juggler, Marty Coffey. Of course the hightlight of the Awards Dinner are the awards themselves and congratulations to all the finalists and winners.

More than 200 delegates enjoyed Friday's Business Breakfast with comedian and MC Clint Paddison warming up the room before CEO, Grant Hinchcliffe updated retailers on the state of the economy,  sales overview and key points and drivers for the coming year. Tom Potter, the founder of Eagle Boys Pizza, recounted his story of achievement through radical change, innovation and a strong belief. Rounding out the morning was Tony Mowbray, one of Australia's premier motivational speakers. Tony recounted his 181 days alone at sea in his record breaking bid to sale solo, non-stop and unassisted around the world. 

Expo kicked on throughout Friday until delegates reconvened at Wrest Point's Pier One for drinks before boarding the coaches to one of Hobart's most famous landmarks, the Henry Jones Art Hotel. During the next 3 hours guests were treated to a varied menu, music from Jason Patmore, magic from Bodan Hatten and humour and some bonus singing from MC and entertainer John X. Included in the wind down cocktail function were the draws for the retailer prizes which included a Melbourne football trip, a South Australian holiday and 2 trips to the national conference and expo. 

With the final song from Jason and John closing the night, delegates drifted back to Wrest Point or along the waterfront to take in Dark Mofo.

Planning is now underway for 2016 to top this one.

Congratulations to our awards winners;

IGA Retailer of the Year

  • IGA X-press ROTY IGA X-Press Lauderdale
  • IGA Everyday ROTY IGA Everyday St Helens
  • SUPA IGA ROTY Supa IGA Longford
  • Sam Richardson Perpetual Award IGA Everyday Youngtown (French's)

 IGA Fresh Departments 

  • SUPA IGA Delicatessen Department SUPA IGA Longford
  • IGA Everyday Delicatessen Department IGA Everyday St Helens
  • SUPA IGA Meat Department SUPA IGA St Helens
  • IGA Everyday Meat Department IGA Everyday St Helens
  • SUPA IGA Produce Department SUPA IGA Longford
  • IGA Everyday Produce Department IGA Everyday Norwood
  • IGA X-press Overall Fresh Department IGA X-Press Newtown

 IGA Grocery Department, Dairy/Freezer and Overall for IGA X-press

  • SUPA IGA Grocery Department SUPA IGA Prospect
  • IGA Everyday Grocery Department IGA Everyday Bridport
  • SUPA IGA Dairy/Freezer Department SUPA IGA Longford
  • IGA Everyday Dairy/Freezer Department IGA Everyday St Helens
  • IGA X-press Overall Grocery Department IGA X-Press Lauderdale